Bearwood St Catherine

St. Catherine's Church was built and endowed by John Walter II of nearby Bearwood and is situated on a slight hill on Bearwood Road between Sindlesham and Barkham at OS ref SU780691.

The church was dedicated to Saint Catherine of Alexandria in memory of the Walters' daughter, Catherine Mary, who had died in 1844. Her remains, which had been initially placed in St. Nicholas Church, Hurst, were later interred in the family vault in St. Catherine's Churchyard.

The church was consecrated on April 23rd 1846 by Samuel Wilberforce, the Bishop of Oxford.


The 90 ft tower contains two bells with an organ loft below, and the church is surrounded by picturesque churchyard with many burials, many of which are included in the Berkshire Burial Index published by the Berks FHS (check the bookshop for latest details).

In addition the Parish Registers are available on CD-ROM (again please check the bookshop for latest details).

The monumental inscriptions were recorded by members of Berks FHS and are published on microfiche; some work is underway to provide a plot-level plan and photos of all monuments, with a view to publishing on CD-ROM.

If you want any further information about this updating activity please contact us via the Projects Coordinator (please put [MI] in the subject, which will help us to forward to the appropriate person).

For more information on the church see the booklet:

St Catherine's Church Bearwood-Parish Register Extracts (1863-1879) by Jim Bell, which is available in Wokingham library


Additional information